Parallel Lines I

So it comes a day,

When a teacher steps into class,

And I looked up,

And realise,

Its another boring Math class.

He begins preaching his monologue,

About how wondrous Math is,

How eager he is to start the new topic,

With a factitious tone.

He scans around for a response,

Then begin.

I had to feel sorry for him.

But, its Math after all.

“Today we are going to talk about parallel lines”

He said.

“I always felt sad teaching this topic”

He said.

I thought about it,

Looked at my friend,

And something clicked.

I cringed.

But it’s too late,

There, he said it.

“Because they never meet”

The class laughed,

Not the kind of laughter that follows because you are genuinely tickled by the joke,

But the kind of laughter that is made

Merely for being considerate.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

